Here are the contexts of the quotes tweeted from @sueannbowling between May 22 and May 28. All but the last are from J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers.

Map of the Misty Mountains, from the original English version of the book.

Map of the Misty Mountains, from the original English version of the book.

“I could have been happy here, if I had come in days of peace.” Legolas, speaking to Gimli about Fanghorn Forest.

“I have forgotten much that I knew, and learned again much that I had forgotten.” Gandalf, first meeting Aragorn’s group after his return.

“A habit of the old: they choose the wisest person present to speak to; the long explanations needed by the young are wearying.” Gandalf, explaining that he is speaking to himself.

“That we should wish to cast him down and have no one in his place is not a thought that occurs to his mind.” Gandalf, speaking to Aragorn of Sauron.

“I have spoken words of hope. But only of hope. Hope is not victory.” Gandalf, speaking to Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli as they prepare to ride to Edoras.

“We are all friends here. Or should be, for the laughter of Mordor will be our only reward if we quarrel.” Gandalf, when the doorward of Edoras tries to bar their way.

“I don’t have to buy anything to shop.” Sue Ann Bowling, Tourist Trap. Flame, as she prepares to visit the ship’s store on the way to Faleron.

