Year 10 Day 29

Am I letting the People depend too much on me?

Salt is a necessity; not having to gather it themselves is a luxury, but I don’t give them so much they cannot find it for themselves. The same is true for obsidian and fine chert. Perfumes and sweets are greeted with delight by all ages, but they are recognized as special. Aside from the occasional fermentation of some fruit, they certainly do not become habituated to these treats.

Perhaps I could bring them something special that would have no shadow of possibility that they could consider it a normal part of life? But what? The furred skins are of interest to few in this hot climate, even for decoration. The shamans would no doubt appreciate the results of the tanning methods Songbird has managed to copy from the northern hunters, and I plan to encourage her to share this now knowledge with other women, but I doubt that many would willingly wear the hot, heavy cloaks that result from tanning a leopard or lion skin with the hair on.

Then it occurred to me. Ice! Songbird is unique in having seen snow. How would the children of the People react if I managed to teleport one of the large, tabular pieces of drift ice into a local depression that drained to the lake? The runoff would be quite pure, and if I chose an area with a gravel drainage channel, it would supply drinking water as well as a new experience for the children.

And I think I know just where to put it.

Jarn is a human-like alien who was stranded in Africa roughly 125,000 years ago. He has been exploring the north polar regions, but it is time for the nomadic people to return to the lake for their annual gather. His journal to date is on my author site.

