Here are the contexts of the quotes tweeted from @sueannbowling from September 12 through September 18, 2013. All but the last are from The Skies of Pern, by Anne McCaffrey.

Cover, the Skies of Pern“We came because that was what we’d done, had to do, did. M’Rand, quoting the old Question Song as he prepares to step down.

“It was the set of their minds: their self-appointed mission to deny choice to others.” Tagetarl’s thoughts on how the Abominators differed from others.

“Not everything and anything new meant an improvement.” Tagetarl remembering something Menolly had said—but he goes on to say that people must make their own choices as to what to accept.

“It never occurred to him that he had only himself to blame.” Toric, stuck in a meeting about the new observatories. I’ve often wondered what Anne McCaffrey intended to do about Toric, who by this point is rather obviously going to have to be dealt with.

“Such people are afraid of what they don’t understand, won’t understand.” F’lar talking to Lessa about the problem of the Abominators.

“Practice, I believe, always improves performance.” Lytol, after F’lessan says that he hopes to be able to make a more graceful landing in the future.

“I believe” shades into “I know.” Homecoming, Sue Ann Bowling. Lai, explaining why he is not against religion (and has his own) but is doubtful of dogma.

P.S. I think summer’s over, regardless of the calendar. This is what I woke up to this morning.

I'd better get the plastic off the herbs today.

I’d better get the plastic off the herbs today.

But I'll need help to get the moose barrier up around the maple.

But I’ll need help to get the moose barrier up around the maple.

