Pride and Prejudice blogfestAll but the last quote from @sueannbowling between July 4 and July 10 were from Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen.

P&P cover“I hope I never ridicule what is wise or good.” Elizabeth defending herself against the charge of making a joke of everything.

“Society, I own,  is necessary to me.” Witham, explaining his presence in Meryton

“Pay me the compliment of believing what I say.” Elizabeth, trying to convince Mr. Collins that she cannot marry him.

“I would rather be paid the compliment of being believed sincere.” Elizabeth is beginning to despair of getting through to Mr. Collins.

“Allow me the free use of my understanding on the present occasion.” Mr. Bennett, after he refuses to side with his wife in insisting that Elizabeth marry Mr. Collins.

“Those who do not complain are never pitied”. Mrs. Bennett, after Elizabeth refuses Mr. Collins (though she has many other excuses for her nerves.)

“He never said anything about your being here to me.” Sue Ann Bowling, Homecoming. Coryn, when the school head implies (wrongly) that he took it for granted that Lai had taken Roi.

