The sun rose this morning at 3:31 and will set 20 hours and 48 minutes later at 12:19 tomorrow morning. We’re losing 5 minutes a day, and a week from now the sun will be rising and setting on the same day. The sun is still high in the sky, though, more than 45° at noon.

Mints

Mints (no two are the same variety) with weed-stop fabric. I’m missing two I really like (lime and strawberry) as they weren’t available this year; banana and grapefruit are new.

The weather has remained dry with areas of smoke, but the forecast suggests increasing showers and even rain next week. I certainly hope so; there are evacuations strongly suggested within 20 miles of my house.

I’m trying to get weed-stop fabric around the mints and other herbs, and flowers planted in the hollows in the cement blocks making up the raised beds. I doubt I’ll feel like it once chemo starts, so I’m getting as much as I can done while I’m still feeling decent. At least the intense heat seems to have faded – forecast high temperatures for the next week are high 60’s to low 70’s.

I need to drag out the other hoses and water more than the vegetable beds and potted plants. The lilies are barely breaking the ground – probably lack of water. But I may not feel up to watering once I start chemo, and I don’t want to start if I’m not continuing.

