Year 4 Day 265

Lotus (Morguefile)The river flows into the tideless sea, all right, though it isn’t as tideless as I first thought. When I checked the water level with the position of the moon over several fivedays, it became obvious that there is a very slight rise and fall, so this salt water body must connect somewhere with the tidal sea I found far to the west. Storms and offshore and onshore winds, however, have much more effect on the water level. It is not as salty as the seaway I followed earlier, though still saltier than the open sea once I get well away from the river delta.

I have cut back a little on my exploration, studying the delta in the morning, teleporting back to my home base to check on Songbird at noon, and following the coast westward in the afternoon. So far the coast westward is primarily desert, though there is greenery now and then where there are springs. There must be mountain regions where the water table is recharged, but I have not found them yet.

The delta is fascinating since I figured out how to set the warnoffs to repel the hordes of biting insects — not to mention the water snakes, the hippos and the crocodiles. I don’t think the People would be very happy here. Their advantage of height, of being able to see over the vegetation, would be totally lost in these reed beds.

I wish Songbird would hurry up and have her baby. Meerkat thinks it could be any day now.

Jarn’s Journal is the fictional journal of a fictional human-like alien stranded on Earth roughly 125,000 years ago. He has been befriended by early humans who insist on treating him as a god, much to his annoyance. Right now he is trying to map the coast of Africa while worrying about the child he rescued earlier, who is about to have a child herself. The whole Journal to date is on my author site.

